Turkey Trot as fast as you can!

The blog is back! You didn’t think I’d be gone forever, did you?

I know, I know. I’m sorry. I realize it’s been a hell of a long time. All I can say is that my life got really busy and I just couldn’t seem to find the time or the energy to keep up with the blog. Here’s everything that’s happened since my last blog post:

  • I paid a lot of money per hour to get a Physics professor at Stanford to tutor me in math for the GRE. After studying for a few months, I took my GRE in June (and did great!). Money well spent. He was awesome.
  • I started taking a macroeconomics class at the local community college for 3 hours every Tuesday night, plus an online International Relations course. Take one more big chunk out of my schedule. Only 2 more lectures and then the final, and I’m free!
  • I got laid off, and then got a new job. I have to say, the month+ off was great. But I’m really happy in my new place. We have running club every Tuesday at lunch, and my very petite coworker (part of the running club) just ate an entire large pizza by herself. She lost a bet. It was glorious.
  • I’m applying to grad school (MA in International Affairs), so that has been one logistical challenge after another. But I’ve got 4 apps in, 3 more to go, and now it’s just a waiting game!
  • I completed 2 triathlons, both sprints. Came 4th in my age group in one, and tanked the other. But had fun in both! I really need to work on my open-water swim.

So there you go! Since yesterday was turkey day, the boyfriend, his brother and I all participated in the Silicon Valley Turkey Trot again. We ran the 5k in 24:48, which is great for me (although a long cry from my high school XC days), and had lots of fun! The Turkey Trot is very important because it kicks off what will be my second year of doing the Runner’s World Holiday Run Streak! Basically, you run at least one mile every day from Thanksgiving to New Year’s Day. It was daunting, but I had a great time doing it last year and I’d encourage everyone to do it! If you missed yesterday, that’s alright. Just start today. The point is to do it.

If you’re training for an upcoming race (the SF Rock n’ Roll Marathon is coming up in February) or just want to have some accountability over the holidays, it’s an awesome way to get out. I’ll be tracking my outdoor runs via Strava, but I’ll be counting soccer in there too. Also, there’s going to be a lot of treadmill action since I have that whole back issue.

But what about rest days?, you ask. Or, I don’t have enough time to run every day. I’m traveling. There’s friends. Family. Presents to open and food to gorge myself on! I will be doing all of those things too. I’ll tackle rest days first. The minimum requirement to keep your streak alive is one mile. It can be as slow as you want, while still jogging. That’s a rest day if I ever heard of one! Which brings me to not having enough time. One mile will take you roughly 10 minutes to complete. You can take 10 minutes out of your day. I read an article last year, which I can’t seem to find, about a run-streaker who was stuck in an airport so he ran a mile through the airport. No excuses!

Upcoming fitness, then, is the #RWrunstreak, spin classes–I’ve gotten back on that horse!–and GETTING READY FOR SKI SEASON! I did a post about it last year, and I’ll follow up with another one in the next little bit. But it’s time to start getting those legs strong enough to withstand the burn!

I hope everyone had a happy Thanksgiving. Time to go for my Day 2 run! How are you all planning to even out your holiday feasting?

One thought on “Turkey Trot as fast as you can!

  1. Yay! Glad to see the blog back. Totally agree, there’s no better way to kick off the Turkey Day than with a Trot! We did the SF one this year along the Embarcadero and now plan on making it an annual tradition!

Leave a Reply

